GoodinHere’s Top 10 Albums of 2012 and Other Notables

With no new offerings from the Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver, Girls, St. Vincent (solo) or The Beatles, I was expecting 2012 to be a so-so year for ear tastes. Oh how sweet the sounds of correction!

Reign of Terror Fear Fun Sun The Only Place

My top 10 albums of 2012: Spotify

Notable Albums: Spotify

Top Tracks: Spotify

Did I miss any? Suggestions are mega appreciated.

5 responses to “GoodinHere’s Top 10 Albums of 2012 and Other Notables

  1. I just cannot get into Sleigh Bells. I mean “Comeback Kid” is catchy but the album is just too in-your-face for my taste. Out of this list, Be the Void by Dr. Dog and Sun by Cat Power are probably my faves; novel new sounds from both artists. Father John Misty–J. Tillman certainly freeing himself in new musical directions with the name change. (The KCRW video you sent me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_ztOeup6BE says it all) Lumineers & First Aid kit are awesome and deserve more listening time from me. Howler… meh. Chromatics and Blonds… I’ll get back to you.

    Your Notable Albums–Bloom is definitely in my top 5. Blunderbuss may make top 10… The Carpenter may too, but it didn’t have the immediate effect I and Love and You did on me, and–judging by the Bros’ instant rise to stardom once they got uncle Rick on dat production–on everyone else too.

    • Yo! Yeah, I realize Sleigh Bells is abrasive and I actually wondered what the devil was happening to my ears at first (see “Treats”). However, a little bit of gravel clears out my tubes; they’re now one of my favorite bands of all time. Love how much sound is created by two people and that it is blended in to ridiculous looking live shows. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqLR9cgG9dE

      Howler and Best Coast are calls to my roots in the 60s California guitar pop scene. Just push my buttons.

      Definitely a colorful year. Tough to deny Tame Impala and Django Django…

  2. By “Comeback Kid” I actually meant “Crown on the Ground.”

    Yeah, Tame Impala easily in my top 5.

    Best Coast came up on your best of 2012 Spotify mix and Grace said “I need to listen to more Best Coast.” Saw her at the Roo–great show, and haven’t listened to her albums more than a couple times, which will be changing stat. Best Coast > Howler at this point in my earballs. Also saw Sleigh Bells at Roo and had to get out after two songs. That fat stack of Marshalls straight up blew me away! I will give the latest album another listen…

  3. Very notable, indeed. I had my students write a freewrite on the “Who” video. “WTF” adequately sums up their responses.

Leave a Reply

